Reset Synology with loosing data

My DS409slim is really slow since I faked it as a DS411j and installed DSM v5 on it. An option could be configuration issues. So I decided to reset the whole configuration. But I need to keep all that are stored on the SHR-RAID. It is quite straight forward. But here’s the no-so-short story.

Locate the reset hole at the back of the DS409slim. Quoting the doc: ” (…) Using a paper clip, gently press and hold down the RESET button for about 4 seconds until your Synology NAS emits a beep sound. Within the next 10 seconds, press and hold down the RESET button again for about 4 seconds until your Synology NAS emits another beep sound. You will see the STATUS light on your Synology NAS’s front panel now blinking orange. Run Synology Assistant and find your Synology NAS. You will see Configuration Lost under Status.”

DSM reset
If you read french, you’ll see that it didn’t format the data partition. If not, just look at the grayed line at step #3.

When the reset is done, I could log-in to the Web interface and check that data were still there on the disks. Hurra!
Now, I’ll give it a few days or weeks to prove it can handle DSM v5. If not, I’ll go back to DSM v4.

3 Comments

  • Michele Fri, 06 Feb 2015 16:58:17 +0000 Reply

    Hello, after one month.. your consideration? It’s too slow?
    How to go back to v4?

    • Joel Carnat Sun, 15 Feb 2015 22:18:09 +0000 Reply Author

      Hi. Quite slow indeed. I’m really thinking about rolling-back. But real-life took precedence 😉
      I already did a roll-back test a few weeks ago. So I know it works. I’ll try to find time to write about it.

  • Michele Tue, 17 Feb 2015 17:39:13 +0000 Reply

    Thanks

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

%d bloggers like this: